Nature Every Day

My best wildlife photo so far, a blackbird in full song

My best wildlife photo so far, a blackbird in full song

By Lucy

I’ve signed up for 30 Days Wild, a challenge with The Wildlife Trusts (in the UK) to do one wild activity for every day of June.

This is good timing as I’ve been trying to increase my daily awareness of wildlife this year already. Although trying to protect wildlife and the environment lies behind virtually every decision I make in life in one way or another, I often let the busyness in my mind block my actual everyday appreciation of it. During the winter I even realised I was often cycling all the way to & from work without noticing anything that I could tell Brian about when I got home – and yet being out in nature is one of the main reasons I say I love cycling! I had just got into some really bad habits.

In an effort to switch my internal chatter off and tune back into my surroundings, I’ve started recording a daily wildlife update in my diary. This can be anything from nature: creatures, plants, scenery, weather or astronomy. If I sit down at 10pm and have nothing to write, I know something needs correcting in the way I live my days!

It doesn’t matter to me to know the name or status of everything I see. I’m as happy noticing ‘flowers’ as I am noticing something I know the name of, and as happy looking at blackbirds as I am encountering something rare. It’s all wonderful, and I don’t want to waste another day not appreciating it!

I found this super-bright caterpillar in the soil when gardening

I found this super-bright caterpillar in the soil when gardening

Egyptian goose couple that came right up to the bench I was eating lunch on

Egyptian goose couple that came right up to the bench I was eating lunch on

8 thoughts on “Nature Every Day

  1. Pingback: 30 Days Wild in June: the first 10 days | More of What Matters

  2. Pingback: 30 Days Wild in June: Over half way! | More of What Matters

Leave a Reply

