The Accidental Mobius Scarf

DSCF1487b

by Lucy

Here is my latest finished knitting project! I started this 2 years ago, but because I keep my knitting in a cupboard, I often forget about it and that’s why things take so long.

The idea for this project was that I wanted a scarf which could not blow off my neck while cycling. This is really a snood, and it was made on circular needles with one ball of rainbow wool.

At some point in the knitting, I must have twisted the whole thing round and through itself, because one day I realised it was curling over as I was knitting. What I’ve accidentally created is a Mobius or infinity scarf – not what I intended, but I think it makes it more interesting!

I enjoyed making something so bright and colourful, and when I remembered to take it out with me, I did quite a lot of the knitting outdoors. There’s something very satisfying about that!

04 28 Knitting in the wood

Now I’m using it, it does the job perfectly, keeping me cosy and warm on my winter commutes. I’ve made enough scarves now, so my next project will be some fingerless gloves – I’ll try not to take two years to finish those….

 

5 thoughts on “The Accidental Mobius Scarf

  1. Thank-you for visiting my blog and liking my post. I love the scarf and the bright colors. I am a knitter and love to crochet as well. Slippers are my project right now. Fun stuff. Have a nice day. Renee 🙂

    • Hi, thank you for visiting and commenting! Glad you like the scarf. I never learned to crochet but have plans to learn very soon – there’s so much I’d like to try making! All the best, Lucy 🙂

      • You are so welcome. I am the same way, as there are many patterns I see around that I would love to have the time to knit or crochet. I knit and crochet when I can. 🙂 Renee

  2. I’ve been having a it of a browse around and like what Ifind in your blog. I love your Mobious scarf and would like to make one sometime. I knit a lot but am quite new to circular knitting and can see how such an error could occur. Here it made spoor serendipity! I love it! And the rainbow wool.
    H appy days! 🙂

    • Thank you, that’s really kind! The scarf is working really well for cycling and now I’m making my first pair of fingerless gloves. I’m really enjoying following your updates too.

Leave a Reply

